

NEWSLETTER

President Appoints New FEC Commissioners: Toner Elected FEC Chair

January 2006

On January 4, 2006, President Bush appointed Democrats Robert D. Lenhard and Steven T. Walther to the Federal Election Commission (FEC), where they will replace current commissioners Scott Thomas and Danny L. McDonald. The President also appointed Republican Hans von Spakovsky, filling the vacancy created by the resignation late last year of commissioner Brad Smith.

Prior to President Bush's appointments, the Commission elected as its chairman Michael Toner, a Republican, who has served on the Commission since 2002. Mr. Toner previously was chief counsel of the Republican National Committee and general counsel of the Bush-Cheney Transition Team and Bush-Cheney 2000 Presidential Campaign.

The Commission also elected Danny L. McDonald as Vice Chairman. Mr. McDonald, however, was replaced by President Bush, and the Commission now will have to elect a new Vice Chairman.

The Federal Election Campaign Act requires that no political party hold a majority of the seats on the Commission.

Authors

Andrew G. Woodson Partner 202.719.4638 awoodson@wiley.law