

ALERT

Treasury Publishes Current List of Boycotting Countries (2014)

June 6, 2014

The U.S. Department of the Treasury periodically publishes an official boycott list to alert the public to those countries that require or may require participation in, or cooperation with, an international boycott. On June 5, 2014, Treasury published its current list, which includes the following countries:

- Iraq
- Kuwait
- Lebanon
- Libya
- Qatar
- Saudi Arabia
- Syria
- United Arab Emirates
- Yemen

U.S. antiboycott laws and regulations frequently are overlooked and can become traps for the unwary. It is prudent for companies that conduct business or intend to conduct business with boycotting countries to screen transactions for potential antiboycott issues, including by carefully reviewing contractual provisions as well as other written or oral requests or requirements that may implicate antiboycott laws and regulations.

Authors

Lori E. Scheetz Partner 202.719.7419 Ischeetz@wiley.law Tessa Capeloto Partner 202.719.7586 tcapeloto@wiley.law

Practice Areas

Export Controls and Economic Sanctions International Trade National Security